

City of Fort Bragg

416 N Franklin Street Fort Bragg, CA 95437 Phone: (707) 961-2823 Fax: (707) 961-2802

Legislation Text

File #: 22-221, Version: 1

Nomination and Appointment of Planning Commissioners to Serve on the Fort Bragg Planning Commission

Section 2.20.020 of the Fort Bragg Municipal Code states:

- A. There shall be five (5) members of the Planning Commission appointed by the City Council. Each member of the City Council may submit the name of a resident of the City as a nominee for a seat on the Planning Commission. The City Council as a whole shall vote to appoint the nominee, the appointment requiring the affirmative vote of at least three (3) City Councilmembers.
- B. Planning Commission members shall be seated for a potential term coinciding with that of the nominating City Councilmember, provided, however, that the commissioners serve at the will of the City Council. The City Council may remove any Planning Commissioner at any time through the affirmative vote of at least four (4) of the City Councilmembers.

The terms of Commissioners Jay Andreis, appointed by Councilmember William V. Lee (reappointed by the entire Council following Councilmember Lee's resignation), and Nancy Rogers, appointed by Mayor Bernie Norvell, will expire in December of 2022. Upon the resignation of Mr. Andreis and Ms. Rogers, these two seats on the Planning Commission need to be filled. Councilmember Rafanan may nominate an appointee for Mr. Andreis's seat and Mayor Norvell may nominate an appointee for Ms. Rogers's seat. The entire Council must vote to appoint the nominees.