

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	22-375	Version: 1	Name:			
Туре:	Appointment		Status:	Passed		
File created:	7/26/2022		In control:	City Council		
On agenda:	7/25/2022		Final action:	7/25/2022		
Title:	Nomination and Appointment of Planning Commissioner to Serve on the Fort Bragg Planning Commission					
Sponsors:						
Indexes:	Shared - Citywide					
Code sections:						
Attachments:						
Date	Ver. Action By	,	Act	on	Result	

		•		
7/25/2022	1	City Council	approved	Pass
7/25/2022	1	City Council	approved	Pass

Nomination and Appointment of Planning Commissioner to Serve on the Fort Bragg Planning Commission

Section 2.20.020 of the Fort Bragg Municipal Code states:

A. There shall be five (5) members of the Planning Commission appointed by the City Council. Each member of the City Council may submit the name of a resident of the City as a nominee for a seat on the Planning Commission. The City Council as a whole shall vote to appoint the nominee, the appointment requiring the affirmative vote of at least three (3) City Councilmembers.

B. Planning Commission members shall be seated for a potential term coinciding with that of the nominating City Councilmember, provided, however, that the commissioners serve at the will of the City Council. The City Council may remove any Planning Commissioner at any time through the affirmative vote of at least four (4) of the City Councilmembers.

The Mayor may at any time, by a majority consent of the members, permit a member to introduce an ordinance, resolution, or motion out of the regular agenda order of business. The item must be on the regular agenda or added to the agenda as an emergency item or as an item which came up after the regular agenda was posted. Government Code 54954.2(b) requires the item be approved by a two-thirds vote of the City Council.

The term of Commissioner Sharon Davis, appointed by Mayor Bernie Norvell, was scheduled to expire in December of 2024. Upon the death of Commissioner Davis, this seat on the Planning Commission needs to be filled. At a Special Meeting of July 11, 2022, Mayor Norvell put forth his selection of Scott Deitz as Planning Commissioner and received no objections thereto from any of the Councilmembers. The entire Council must vote to appoint the nominee.