



AGENCY: City Council
MEETING DATE: October 26, 2020

DEPARTMENT: Administrative Services

PRESENTED BY: J. Lemos

EMAIL ADDRESS: jlemos@fortbragg.com

AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

TITLE:

INTERVIEW APPLICANTS FOR NOYO HARBOR COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

ISSUE:

The Noyo Harbor Commission, consisting of five members, is the governing body of the Noyo Harbor District. As of October 31, 2020, one of the two City-appointed positions on the Commission will become vacant and must be filled, and the position of Chair appointed jointly with the Board of Supervisors will also become vacant and must be filled.

ANALYSIS:

The Fort Bragg City Council appoints two Commissioners to serve on the Noyo Harbor Commission; the County of Mendocino appoints two Commissioners; and the City and County jointly appoint the Chair. This Commission oversees operations of Noyo Harbor. Appointees to the Harbor Commission must reside within the Noyo Harbor District boundaries and serve for a four-year term.

On October 24, 2016, the City Council appointed William Forkner as Noyo Harbor Commissioner. Mr. Forkner's term will expire on October 31, 2020. The Council must now select an appointee to serve for the next four years on the Noyo Harbor Commission.

Also on October 24, 2016, the City Council and Board of Supervisors jointly appointed Joe Caito as Chair of the Harbor Commission. Mr. Caito's term expires on October 31, 2020 and he has informed the City Clerk that he will not be seeking another term on the Noyo Harbor Commission. The City Council in conjunction with the Mendocino County Board of Supervisors must appoint a new Harbor Commission Chair.

In a September 30, 2020 press release, the City announced that applications were being accepted for appointees to the Noyo Harbor Commission. Five timely applications were received, from Douglas Paul Albin, Bill Forkner, Jim Hurst, Tara N. Larson and Gabriel Quinn Maroney. Applicants were asked if they would be willing to serve as Chair, Commissioner or either of those positions if appointed. The responses were as follows:

Name of Applicant	Chair	Comm.	Either
Douglas Paul Albin		Х	
Bill Forkner			Х
Jim Hurst	Х		
Tara N. Larson		Х	
Gabriel Quinn Maroney			Х

The Council may pose questions to the applicants. Proposed questions are attached for Council's use if desired. Council can conduct interviews, deliberate, and select an appointee to the Noyo Harbor Commission. Alternatively, staff can be directed to recruit for additional applications prior to an appointment.

Staff has been informed that the Mendocino County Board of Supervisors has appointed an ad hoc committee for selection of the Noyo Harbor Commission Chair, consisting of Supervisors Dan Gjerde and Ted Williams. The Council and ad hoc committee can jointly select an appointee for the Chair position on the Harbor Commission.

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Conduct interviews of applicants and appoint a Noyo Harbor Commissioner. In conjunction with the Board of Supervisors ad hoc committee, jointly appoint a Chair to the Noyo Harbor Commission.

ALTERNATIVE ACTION(S):

- 1. The City Council can decline to take action and direct staff to provide more information.
- 2. The City Council can appoint an ad hoc committee to collect additional applications and conduct further interviews.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this item.

GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS IMPACT:

The appointment of commissioners by itself does not impact greenhouse gas emissions.

IMPLEMENTATION/TIMEFRAMES:

Following Council appointment, the appointees' terms will start immediately upon being sworn in and will continue until October 31, 2024.

CONSISTENCY:

The appointments are consistent with California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 6240.

ATTACHMENTS:

- 1. Press Release of September 1, 2020
- 2. Proposed List of Questions for Applicants
- 3. Application of Douglas Paul Albin
- 4. Application of Bill Forkner
- 5. Application of Jim Hurst
- 6. Application of Tara N. Larson
- 7. Application of Gabriel Quinn Maroney

NOTIFICATION:

- 1. Douglas Paul Albin
- 2. Bill Forkner
- 3. Jim Hurst
- 4. Tara N. Larson
- 5. Gabriel Quinn Maroney
- 6. Mendocino County Supervisor Dan Gjerde
- 7. Mendocino County Supervisor Ted Williams
- 8. Carla Slaven, Secretary/Treasurer, Noyo Harbor District